2018 Arkansas REALTORS® State Convention
16 October 2018 - 16:09, by , in News Releases, Comments off


11224 Executive Center Drive, Little Rock, AR 72211


Contact: Juli Gates, Arkansas REALTORS® Association 501-225-2020




(Little Rock, 10/16/18) – The Arkansas Realtors® Association held their 93rd Annual Convention September 17-19, 2018 at The Hot Springs Convention Center in Hot Springs. The theme for this year’s Convention was “The Winner’s Circle”!


The three-day program included committee meetings, the Annual Membership Meeting, recognition luncheons and banquets, and nationally-recognized speakers who covered legal, technological, motivational, and operational subjects. Speakers included professional baseball player, Bill Buckner, Monica Neubauer, Chris H. Olsen, Jeremias JMAN Maneiro, Dale Carlton, Tim Wooldridge, Tim Grooms, of Quattlebaum Grooms & Tull, PLLC.,. The Convention also included an Awards Luncheon, Realtor® of the Year celebration, and Inaugural Banquet. The annual Kick Off Social was held at the Mid America Museum. REALTORS® mingled and had a great time while still getting to play and feel like a kid again.


In the Opening Session members heard from 2018 Region 9 Vice President Jim Gamble, 2018 National Association of REALTORS® President-Elect John Smaby, and Keynote Speaker professional baseball player, Bill Buckner.


Amy Eden of Bryant was named 2018 Arkansas Realtor® of the Year at the Realtor® of the Year Gala on Tuesday evening. All Local Board Realtors® of the Year were recognized at the banquet as well. The Realtor® of the Year is a peer award based on point-system criteria set by the National Association of Realtors® and the Arkansas Realtors® Association that includes community service, service to the local, State and National Realtor® organizations, and application of the principles of the Golden Rule in all life situations.


The Awards luncheon on Wednesday September 19, 2018, honored members and local boards for outstanding accomplishments in 2018. Awards for boards that excelled in raising funds for Special Olympics Arkansas were presented at this luncheon. The Special Olympics Arkansas (SOAR) Awards that were presented went to the boards that raised the most amount of money for SOAR. The Texarkana Board of REALTORS®, Russellville Board of Realtors®, and the Northwest Arkansas Board of Realtors® all won first place for the small, medium, and large board categories respectively. The Paragould Board of Realtors® received an award for the most funds raised per member while the Russellville Board of Realtors® received an award for the highest increase in fundraising over last year. For 33 years, Arkansas Realtors® have been fundraising for Special Olympics Arkansas and to date have raised more than 2 and a half million dollars for the organization. Dinah McCord of Fort Smith was awarded the L. Wayne Camp award which is awarded to recognize continuing and outstanding volunteerism by a Realtor® for Special Olympics Arkansas.


Maurice Taylor of North Pulaski Board of REALTORS®, Jeramy Stephens of Southeast Arkansas Board of REALTORS®, and Dale Carlton of Northwest Arkansas Board of REALTORS® all received the Omega Tau Rho medal of service. Sarah Sealy of Texarkana Board of REALTORS® and Wally Loveless of Little Rock REALTORS® Association both received the Distinguished Service Award for their outstanding service to the Arkansas REALTORS®.


The Inaugural Banquet celebrated the installation of the incoming Arkansas Realtors® Association Angie Johnson of Benton, as well as all incoming 2019 Officers and Directors. Velda Lueders, 2018 Arkansas Realtors® Association President introduced Karen Crowson, Arkansas REALTORS® Association 2006 Past President and mother of Angie Johnson to carry out the induction. The incoming Officers include President-Elect Carolyn Cobb, Little Rock; Secretary-Treasurer Bob Dodson, Harrison; Immediate Past President Velda Lueders, Conway; District 1 Vice President Jennifer Welch, Siloam Springs; District 2 Vice President Sandra Kelley, Paragould; and District 3 Vice President, Wes Freeman, Russellville.


The incoming Directors include Chance Schubert, Bentonville; Melanie Silvey, Siloam Springs; Mitch Weigel, Fayetteville; Michael Warner, Bentonville; Jacklyn Perry, Fayetteville; Jeff Pratt, Harrison; Amber Gill, Paragould; Caleb Moore, Russellville; Phillip Jones, Clinton; Vickie Elmendorf, Bryant; Amy Eden, Bryant; Susan Vaught, Jacksonville; Sarah Sealy, Texarkana; Sue Ann Strait, Russellville, Larry Rhodes, Fort Smith; Shane McBride, Jonesboro; Debbie Rawls, Paragould; and Ronald B. Stinchcomb, Fayetteville.


About author:

Comments are closed here.