Dismang, Williams Named Arkansas Realtors® Association’s 2011 Legislators-of-the-Year
23 June 2011 - 20:58, by , in News Releases, No comments

AGB_60131-300x199LITTLE ROCK (June 24, 2011) – The Arkansas Realtors® Association recently named Arkansas Senator Jonathan Dismang and Arkansas State Representative Darrin Williams the group’s 2011 Legislators-of-the-Year.  The annual award was established to recognize Arkansas legislators whom the association believes made a powerful and positive impact on the future of the Arkansas real estate industry and Arkansas homeowners.

“We had a great legislative session for the consumers of Arkansas,” said Michael Ford, 2011 Arkansas Realtors® Association Legislative Chairman and 1995 ARA President.  “The ARA, these legislators and the Arkansas Real Estate Commission spent a tremendous amount of time, energy and resources educating ARA members, the public and legislators about Realtor® Party issues that affect Arkansas’s real estate industry and the consumers we represent.  The results of that time, energy and education are what led us to name Senator Dismang and Representative Williams our Legislators-of-the-Year, to celebrate our successful 2011 legislative session and to honor those who worked so tirelessly to achieve those results.”

The luncheon sponsored by the Crittenden County Board of Realtors, the Little Rock Board of Realtors, the North Pulaski Board of Realtors and ARPAC was held Monday, June 6, 2011 in Little Rock.

In accepting the award, Senator Dismang stated, “I’m honored to be recognized by an organization that is devoted not only to bettering their own profession, but also to protecting the rights of all Arkansans. It has been a great experience to work with the Arkansas Realtors® Association the past two legislative sessions. I look forward to strengthening our relationship as friends at the Capitol and as friends dedicated to improving Arkansas.”

Senator Dismang represents Senate District 29, which comprises parts of Faulkner, Pulaski and White counties. He is serving his first term in the Arkansas Senate. During the 88th General Assembly, he served on the following committees: Legislative Joint Auditing; Joint Budget; Joint Performance Review; Joint Energy; Senate Public Health, Welfare and Labor; and Senate City, County and Local Affairs. Senator Dismang was elected to the Arkansas House of Representatives in 2008 to serve House District 49. He was chairman of the Arkansas Legislative Council PEER Committee, vice-chairman of Income Taxes-Personal and Corporate Subcommittee. He was also elected vice chairman of the Freshman Caucus and recognized by his peers for his outstanding leadership ability. The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette named him one of the Top Six Freshman to Watch during the 87th General Assembly and the Three Rivers Edition of the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette named him as one of “Twenty to Watch.”

In accepting his award, Representative Williams stated, “Throughout the nation, we have experienced tough economic times and our real estate markets have suffered greatly, but even in these tough times, the ARA continues to support many worthy, charitable causes all over the state.  I am proud to have worked with them to pass important legislation this session to provide improved consumer protection and promote homeownership. ARA members truly make a difference in the communities they serve, and that is why I am so honored that the ARA has chosen me as their 2011 Legislator-of-the-Year.”

Representative Williams represents District 36, which includes portions of Pulaski County.  He is serving his second term in the Arkansas House of Representatives. During the 88th General Assembly he served on the following committees:  Arkansas Legislative Council; House Committee on Aging, Children and Youth, Legislative & Military Affairs;  House Committee on Judiciary where he was the chairman; and House Select Committee on Rules.  During his previous term Representative Williams served as a member of the Judiciary Committee, chairing the Courts/Civil Law Subcommittee; the City, County & Local Affairs Committee; the Rules Committee; and as an alternate on the Joint Budget Committee.  Senior members of the General Assembly named Rep. Williams as one of the top freshman legislators and in March 2009 the Arkansas Democrat Gazette named him a “Rookie to Watch.”

The Arkansas REALTORS® Association, with thirty-seven independent local Realtor® boards and associations statewide, is the state arm of the Chicago- and Washington, D.C.-based National Association of REALTORS®. Members of the National Association, the State Associations and the local boards and associations are identified by the registered membership term, “Realtor®” and pledge adherence to the REALTORS® Code of Ethics.

For more information, contact:  Amy Glover Bryant, APR, Director of Communications, Arkansas Realtors® Association, Amy@ArkansasRealtors.com,  Phone:  501.225.2020.

About author:

Comments are closed here.